Search News and Events
Enter your zip code below to view news and events relevant to your location.
Boone County Now Under Burn Ban

By: Harold Smith
Posted: Friday, July 12, 2013

Add Boone County to the list of Arkansas counties under a burn ban.

Judge James Norton issued the ban Friday (this) morning. He described the fire danger in the county as extremely high as he issued the county-wide ban on all outdoor burning.

The city of Harrison had issued a similar ban on outdoor burning Wednesday.

A total of 18 Arkansas counties have burn bans in effect, including Newton, Searcy and Madison counties along with Boone County in northwest Arkansas.

A burn advisory remains in effect for Marion County, but that could be upgraded to a ban if conditions worsen.

The Arkansas Forestry Commission classifies nearly all of Arkansas as being under a moderate risk of wildfire.